Carrie Underwood, Luke Combs, Thomas Rhett, Kane Brown & Dan + Shay Named 2019 CMT Artists of the Year

CMT announced its 2019 Artists of the Year: Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett.

The artists will be honored on Oct. 16 at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center in a televised special, CMT Artists of the Year. In addition to paying tribute to the honorees with live performances from other artists—including those from outside the country genre—the 90-minute TV special will also feature a live-streamed performance from Carrie’s Cry Pretty 360 Tour in Cleveland, Ohio.

Additional awards, performers and special guests will be announced soon.

This year’s celebration will mark the fifth time Carrie has been honored with a CMT Artist of the Year award since its inception in 2010. Luke, Kane and Dan + Shay are first-time honorees, while Thomas Rhett is being recognized for the second time.

photos by Curtis Hilbun,