Jason Isbell to Release New Album, “Reunions,” on May 15 [Listen to Lead Single, “Be Afraid”]

Jason Isbell will release his seventh studio album, Reunions, on May 15.

The 10-song offering, which was recorded at Nashville’s RCA Studio A, follows Jason’s 2017 No. 1 album, The Nashville Sound. Like Jason’s three previous albums, Reunions was produced by Grammy-winner Dave Cobb. The new album features 10 songs written by Jason, who was once again backed by his band, the 400 Unit.

“There are a lot of ghosts on this album,” says Jason. “Sometimes the songs are about the ghosts of people who aren’t around anymore, but they’re also about who I used to be, the ghost of myself. I found myself writing songs that I wanted to write 15 years ago, but in those days, I hadn’t written enough songs to know how to do it yet. Just now have I been able to pull it off to my own satisfaction. In that sense it’s a reunion with the me I was back then.”

Jason released the album’s lead single, “Be Afraid,” which you can hear below.

Reunions Track List

1. What’ve I Done To Help
2. Dreamsicle
3. Only Children
4. Overseas
5. Running With Our Eyes Closed
6. River
7. Be Afraid
8. St. Peter’s Autograph
9. It Gets Easier
10. Letting You Go

photo by Tammie Arroyo, AFF-USA.com